A cancellation policy is in effect for every class. Cancellation policies differ for our various programs.
Class cancellations made within 3 days of the class date will result in the following cancellation fees:
½ day classes - $35
Full day classes - $35
Licensing classes - $105
Classroom Videos - $35
AILP Designation classes - $55
CISR Designation classes - $55
CIC Designation classes - $105
CPIA Designation classes - $55
CRIS/MLIS Designation classes - $55
Anyone that doesn’t show up to a class will incur a cancellation fee that totals the full cost of the class.
Weather-Related Cancellations - In-Person Classes Only
In the case of inclement weather, please check the PUBLIC SCHOOL CLOSINGS for the town where MAIA's education program is occurring.
If the town CANCELS school for the day, then our classes are also canceled.
If the town issues a DELAY, then our:
- Half-day morning programs are canceled for the day
- Half-day afternoon programs will run as scheduled
- Full-day programs will have a 1-hour delayed start time, and, to meet CE regulations, the class will also end one hour later.
- Scheduled webinar classes will not be canceled, they will run as scheduled.
CIC Ruble Graduate Seminars
These will be decided on a case-by-case basis. A CIC-Ruble Graduate Seminar is rarely canceled.
Webinar classes will still run as they are presented to multi-states. (The exception would be if the instructor loses power or if there is a widespread power outage. If this happens, we will contact registered participants immediately.)
If you cannot attend due to weather issues, please get in touch with MAIA Education within one business day of the scheduled class.
In the event of a weather-related cancellation, MAIA staff will contact all class participants via the email we have on file about rescheduling the class.
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
In accordance with Title III of the ADA, we invite all registrants to advise us of any disability and requests for that disability at least three weeks before the program.
Continuing Education (CEUs)
If your class has been approved for continuing education units (CEUs), the Commonwealth of Massachusetts mandates that you attend the course to receive CEUs. Partial credit is not given, and late arrivals will not receive CEUs. If taken within three years, the state will not allow CEUs for the same class. If your resident license is in any state other than Massachusetts, please check with your resident state to see if CEUs will apply.
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts mandates that all program participants requesting continuing education (CE) credits must present photo identification to the registrar at the program location before entering the class.
There is no set dress code for our programs, but please dress appropriately.
Some classes have examinations that accompany them. For in-person or webinar classes presented by a live instructor, taking/passing the examination has no bearing on the CEUs that will be issued. If it is a self-study or recorded video program with no instructor, then examinations and passing them are a requirement of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Exceptions to Inclement Weather Policies:
Please register early for classes! To avoid disappointment if classes fill up and to ensure adequate time for us to process your registration. A surcharge will be added to all walk-ins and registrations received within 24 hours of the class.
WEBINARS: Webinar registrations CLOSE at the end of the day, two (2) business days before the class date.